top of page
  • Writer's pictureLet's Check-In

Discovering the Five Love Languages of Caregiving

The family caregiver role is a rewarding yet sometimes frustrating and exhausting responsibility.

Caregiving roles take on different shapes and forms. From assisting older adults in your life, to sick family members and friends. It is a role that at some point in your life you may be the caregiver or even the person that needs care.

These caregivers are important to the health and wellbeing of their families. Your role is to support and encourage your loved one by helping with their day to day needs. According to “Close to 45 million Americans provide 38 billion hours of unpaid, “informal” care each year for older family members and friends living with chronic conditions that inhibit them from handling daily activities such as bathing, managing medications or preparing meals on their own.”

One thing is certain the role of a family caregiver is full of emotions, love, and even exhaustion. There are a lot of things you can do to make the caregiving process easier and more pleasurable for both you and your loved one. The Crossroads Hospice Charitable Foundation posted the article “The Five Love Languages of Caregiving”, from Meredith Fields Lawler, LCSW. Her post is based on Dr. Gary Chapmans revolutionary book titled “The Five Love Languages”.

Lawler's article discusses how love is given and received in a caregiving relationship. Considering that if we are not ourselves caregivers, we are close to one, review it and take steps to share this language of love with your family and friends.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page